Rollout View

Purpose

Software rollout in large scale, rollout status overview and rollout management.

Features explained

  • Create, update, start, copy and delete of rollouts.
  • Pause and resume of rollouts.
  • Progress monitoring for the entire rollout and the individual groups.
  • Drill down to see the groups in a rollout and targets in each group.
  • Rollout attributes:
    • Selection of targets as input for the rollout based on target filter.
    • Selection of distribution set.
    • Auto-splitting of the input target list based on group number defined.
    • Splitting of the input target list based on a list of defined groups.
    • Trigger threshold to define the percentage of installation to be completed, to trigger the start of next group.
    • Error threshold defines the percentage of error tolerance of a group before calling for a emergency shutdown of a rollout.

Note

  • Deletion of targets which are in a rollout, changes the rollout statistics.

Tips and hints

  • Click on Action buttons to start, pause, resume, edit, copy or delete a rollout.
  • Click on Rollout name to see the rollout groups.
  • Click on Rollout group name to see the targets of that group.

Permissions

You need the following permissions to see the Rollout view in…

  • read-only access mode: ROLLOUT_MANAGEMENT
  • full access mode: ROLLOUT_MANAGEMENT, READ_TARGET, CREATE_TARGET, UPDATE_TARGET, DELETE_TARGET, READ_REPOSITORY, READ_TARGET_SEC_TOKEN

The cloud user has full access by default for all available service plans except Starter.

See the security chapter for further information about available roles and their included permissions.

Rollout list view

List of rollouts

Rollout group view

List of rollout groups

Rollout creation dialog

Dialog to define a rollout

Clicking on the add icon above the Rollout list or on the copy icon of a Rollout, opens the Rollout creation dialog. In this dialog a new Rollout can be defined either with Number of Groups or with an Advanced Group definition.

In the Advanced Group definition tab groups can be added and defined with a Target filter query and Target percentage. The Number of Groups tab defines a fixed amount of groups onto which the targets are distributed in equal parts. The Trigger threshold is the percentage of targets in the group, that must be successful before the next group is started. The Error threshold is the percentage of targets in the group that must fail before the rollout is paused.

Up to 500 groups can be defined per Rollout.

The top right pie charts shows the distribution of the total targets count onto the different groups.

Depending on the Start type the Rollout will be started automatically or only when the user triggers the start. If the scheduled date lies in the past or the Auto start option is selected, the Rollout will start as soon as it is ready. Depending on the size of the Rollout, the Rollout can be ready within a few moments or within several minutes. Very large Rollouts (> 100000 targets) might take longer.

Once saved, the Targets will be filled into the defined groups.

Deletion of a rollout

It is possible to delete a rollout using the trash icon, even when it is already started. After confirm the delete action, the deletion is performed. When a rollout is not started yet, it will be hard deleted. This means that it is removed completely out of the Rollout’s repository. If a rollout is already started, all scheduled actions will be deleted and all running actions will be continued. In the action history you only see the already running actions while the scheduled actions are deleted and are not shown in the UI. Already started rollouts are soft deleted which means that they are still available in the repository but are not presented on the UI. The Rollout View only shows rollouts which are not deleted. To delete a rollout you need the permission ROLLOUT_MANAGEMENT.